The Beginnings of Love….

Friday + Weekend

Schedule for Friday

7:30-8:30 Breakfast at Hotel

8:30-9:00 Put Your luggage on the bus

9:00-11:00 Drop off; Departure from Hotel

11:30-12:30 Debriefing the Encounter Experience

12:30-1:30 Lunch at CCCL

1:30-4:00 Bus Tour of Rabat, Abdelhay

4:00-5:00 Orientation Wrap Up, Ads

So how do I recap an entire day and weekend in one blog post?  Eh.

Important for Friday… let see.  The drop off would be the first.  Unfortunately the drop off was alphabetical so while I was in an area I had never been in… and it took a good fifteen to twenty minutes…. I could find my way back very easily :(.  I did get a lil turned around once, but only because I was not paying attention… unlike today where I got lost for real in the medina trying to go home.

So the drop off was good, but pretty… anti-climatic I suppose??  I guess the point of the exercise was to instill confidence and I suppose that it did.

So then we went home with our families.  At first it was a little crazy because I couldn’t understand anyone and we kinda just watched TV.  Moroccans watch A LOT of TV, not even joking.  My host father put of an American movie…. It was the old Batman.  LOL.  First movie in English with Arabic subtitles.  Then we watched a show in Arabic called where is my father.  Apparently it is super popular.

Okay, also here is my aside.  This is the point in my blog where I begin to select carefully what information I convey… especially when it comes to the home.  I am a guest in another’s home and that space is private.  It is not that I think people will necessarily judge or misconstrue, I am simply trying to navigate the line between the private and the public.  Much of what I am learning is actually coming from the home at this point, so of course I will discuss some of what I am doing, but once again.  The home is a private space, what I learn should remain within.

So yes, Saturday.  I got up and was not really sure what to do.  My older host sister was at work, so I kinda just watched cartoons with my host brother and sister.  They are super cute.  It is all older American cartoons dubbed into Arabic, like Tom and Jerry.  I love cartoons.  Fun.  Then I colored with the little ones… there were a lot of kids that came over.  (This is kinda the norm at my place, people just come and go all the time :)… I like it a lot).  Later that day I went with my host sister to pick out a birthday present… and later went to the birthday party…. Let me tell you, crazy fun… and super-overwhelming.  Tons of singing and dancing… and just a real hullabaloo (not sure I’ve ever used that word).

I find that I am really falling in love with Morocco…. Slowly, but definitely am.  The more I learn, the more I am confused, but the more I really love it.

From my observations, space and family is viewed very different.  Its hard to articulate at this point, so I will wait until I possibly can.

After the party I went with my host sister and her friends out to see Rabat at night.  I had suuuuchhhhh a great time.  It was great to see the city, for what it is to the young.  It is a place to roam, to explore, to take pride in, to love.  At least that is how it was for me.  I went to a pool hall/club?  But only for like twenty minutes and had a great time.  But walking around the city was my favorite time up until that time… but Sunday.  Oh I really loved Sunday.

Sunday was amazing.  In the morning I went to visit the Hassan Tower in Rabat with my friend Donna from the SIT group.  That was super fun.  It was ssssssoooooooooooo beautiful.  Like wow.  I will upload pictures soon.  Then I went back and hung out at home for a while.  Later my host sister, her cousin?, and one of my new friends went to the Kasbah and then the beach.  Sitting on the rocks overlooking the beach was my favorite experience so far… we watched the sunset and I think it was that point that I realized that I was truly falling in love.  For realz.  Then we went home… and I fell asleep in the living room so don’t really remember getting to sleep… oh and I wrote my friend Elizabeth a letter and talked to her (J), but now I have to send it.

My battery is going to die very very very very soon… so I am going to upload this blog post and I will write more later… about today, LOL…. And about getting lost in the medina.  Ugh… I probably will again trying to find my way home.  Ugh.  And upload some pictures.

So before I write again my plan is to:

1)      Send my letter

2)      Go to the CCCL Library

3)      Go to the beach (for the second time today).  Tee hee.

4)      Go home and hang out with some people I really, really like 🙂

2 Comments

  1. Margaret said,

    February 9, 2010 at 2:56 am

    Virginia misses you! Enjoy Morocco!

  2. Elizabeth said,

    February 13, 2010 at 2:22 pm

    Meow!!

    “Today, I woke up next to my best friend, and without a word, we meowed at each other. We meowed in every way imaginable for about 20 minutes before realizing that it was not normal. I love my best friend. MLIA”


Leave a Reply

